Lawson Elected to Howard Bank Board


Outgoing Columbia Foundation President and CEO Barbara K. Lawson has been elected a director of Howard Bancorp and Howard Bank, Mary Ann Scully, President and CEO, has announced. Lawson, a Columbia resident, is an investor and well-known civic leader.

Howard Bank is Howard County’s only locally owned and managed bank.  It was founded in 2004.  The community bank is dedicated to serving the needs of local businesses, owners and professionals.

Lawson has served for 19 years as head of Howard County’s community foundation and leaves that post in June.  Lawson previously had a career with the American Red Cross that included a variety of international assignments.

Lawson’s involvement with the nonprofit community has been extensive, and she has been recognized for her leadership and service by a number of groups, including The Horizon Foundation, which awarded her the 2007 Community Appreciation Award, and  The Howard County Chamber of Commerce, which gave her the Exemplar Award in 2007.  The Daily Record named her one of Maryland’s Top 100 Women in 2005. She was named to the Howard County Women’s Hall of Fame in 2002. The Association of Community Services gave her the Audrey Robbins Humanitarian Award in 1997.  She is a founding member of the Women’s Giving Circle of Howard County.

"We are proud and delighted that Barbara has agreed to serve on the boards of the Bancorp and its subsidiary Howard Bank. She is held in such deep respect by the people of Howard County due to her life long dedication to improving the quality of life for all citizens. Her knowledge of and unique perspective on the local community, its history and needs as well as its leadership makes her a most welcome addition to our boards,” Scully said of Lawson.

In addition to Lawson and Scully, other members of the Howard Bancorp and Howard Bank Boards include: Richard G. Arnold, Drew Clark, Bernaldo J. Dancel, Robert J. Hartson, Paul I. Latta (Lead Independent Director), Kenneth C. Lundeen, Robert N. Meyers, Richard H. Pettingill, Steven W. Sachs, and Richard B.Talkin